LitFest featured authors shortlisted for Alberta Literary Awards

Congratulations to Myrl Coulter, Marcello di Cintio, Shaun Hunter, Omar Mouallem and Andrew Nikiforuk for being shortlisted for the 2013 Alberta Literary Awards. Shaun (who appeared at the Writers Cabaret in 2012) and Omar (who is a LitFest board member and frequent festival participant) have been shortlisted for James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction. Andrew (who took part in 3 sessions in 2012) was shortlisted for the William Eggleston Award for his nonfiction book The Energy of Slaves: Oil and the New Servitude. Myrl, who was part of LitFest 2011, has been shortlisted for the Jon White Memorial Essay Award. Marcello, overachiever that he is, has been nominated both for his extraordinary book Walls: Travels Along the Barricades and for his Alberta Views article "A Hymn in Aramaic." Congratulations to all of these wonderful authors!